Learn How Vaccination Boosts Post-Infection Antibody IgG Response to SARS-CoV-2

OVERVIEW:

Efforts to slow the spread of COVID-19 through vaccination have been impacted in part by the belief that previous infection with SARS-CoV-2 provides equivalent antibody-mediated immune protection. In a recent study published in the New England Journal of Medicine, immunologists from Children’s Mercy Research Institute, Kansas City used a multiplexed approach to examine anti-SARS-CoV-2 antibody responses after a single dose of mRNA vaccine administered to people who had prior confirmed infection with the virus.

LEARNING OBJECTIVES:

During this webinar sponsored by Merck, Todd Bradley, Ph.D. will demonstrate how his lab at University of Missouri-Kansas City (UMKC) has used a multiplex assay to detect antibody responses that can only arise post-infection, enabling differentiation of vaccine-induced and post-infection antibody responses.

• Overview of serology tests, what they detect, and how this information can be used

• Discuss the difference between existing and induced antibody immunity to SARS-CoV-2 and why antibody response rates differ among patients

• Highlight differences in immune responses to vaccines in individuals with a history of prior COVID-19 infection.

SCHEDULES:

SESSION I:

Wednesday, August 4, 2021

18:00 AST | 19:00 GST

SESSION II:

Thursday, August 5, 2021

05:30 AST | 06:30 GST


Gulf Scientific Corporation (GSC) is a leading provider of complete laboratory solutions in the fields of analytical, life and material sciences. Founded in 1990, GSC is headquartered in Dubai, United Arab Emirates, with regional offices and supply chain distribution centers across the Middle East.