Learn How Vaccination Boosts Post-Infection Antibody IgG Response to SARS-CoV-2

OVERVIEW

Efforts to slow the spread of COVID-19 through vaccination have been impacted in part by the belief that previous infection with SARS-CoV-2 provides equivalent antibody-mediated immune protection. In a recent study published in the New England Journal of Medicine, immunologists from Children’s Mercy Research Institute, Kansas City used a multiplexed approach to examine anti-SARS-CoV-2 antibody responses after a single dose of mRNA vaccine administered to people who had prior confirmed infection with the virus.

LEARNING OBJECTIVES:

During this webinar sponsored by Merck, Todd Bradley, Ph.D. will demonstrate how his lab at University of Missouri-Kansas City (UMKC) has used a multiplex assay to detect antibody responses that can only arise post-infection, enabling differentiation of vaccine-induced and post-infection antibody responses.

• Overview of serology tests, what they detect, and how this information can be used

• Discuss the difference between existing and induced antibody immunity to SARS-CoV-2 and why antibody response rates differ among patients

• Highlight differences in immune responses to vaccines in individuals with a history of prior COVID-19 infection.

SCHEDULES:

SESSION I:

Wednesday, August 4, 2021

18:00 AST | 19:00 GST

SESSION II:

Thursday, August 5, 2021

05:30 AST | 06:30 GST